Easy Canvas Silhouettes

So, I have a confession. I’m not much of a home decorator. In fact, my husband has better ideas than I do most of the time.

Until now.

We had this blank wall in our living room right above our couch that was just begging for something. Something big and something bold. But my husband and I couldn’t agree on anything. I wanted bright and colorful art. No. He wanted photos but we already have peppered the house with photos.

After finding an old paper silhouette that had been done at Disneyland of myself, I knew what I wanted to do.

Silhouette Canvases Photo

The first step in creating something like this is to figure out what your subject will. I chose my kids, but in all honestly, it could have been a dog or a cat or a butterfly, or a hot dog.

Get a photo of your subject’s profile. Or, like we did way back when in kindergarten, use a projector to project their shadow on a wall and trace it on a piece of paper. Anyways, with the photo, blow it up to the size that you want to do your silhouette and adjust the contrast so it easy to decipher the silhouette’s outlines.

Get a canvas. You can either buy one or make on yourself. We made them ourselves and they sat around in my sewing room for months. So long, in fact, that one of my kids (the boy), decided to make art on them. Which made for an extra step of painting the canvases so they would be white. Again.

Layer your photo on top of a piece of transfer paper on top of your canvas. Using a pen, trace around your silhouette.

step1

Now, using a black (or whatever color your choose) acrylic paint and a small paintbrush, paint in your silhouette.

step2

Finish painting in your silhouette trying to keep the outside line as smooth as possible.

3

Repeat as needed.

4

Hang on the wall and admire your work. It really is an easy project that can be completed in an afternoon.

Leave a Reply

